Syllabus

This syllabus is under development and is subject to change. Due dates for homework and lab assignments will be announced later.

If you are requesting an extension for a HW or lab assignment (due to DSP accommodations), please email the course email (data102@berkeley.edu) prior to the original deadline date. Please avoid emailing the professors.

Show all lecture descriptions

Week Lecture Date Topic Slides Lecture Discussion Recordings Discussion Materials Lab Homework
1 1 Tuesday 08/23/22

No class

2 Thursday 08/25/22

Course Overview, Making Decisions Under Uncertainty

Videos
2 3 Tuesday 08/30/22

Binary Decision-Making

Videos
4 Thursday 09/01/22

P-Values and Multiple Hypothesis Testing

Videos
3 5 Tuesday 09/06/22

Online False Discovery Rate Control & ROC curves

Videos
6 Thursday 09/08/22

Frequentist vs. Bayesian Decision-Making

Videos
4 7 Tuesday 09/13/22

Overview of Bayesian Modeling

Videos
8 Thursday 09/15/22

Graphical Models

Videos
5 9 Tuesday 09/20/22

Rejection Sampling

Videos
10 Thursday 09/22/22

Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) and Gibbs Sampling

Videos
6 11 Tuesday 09/27/22

Regression and GLMs

Videos
12 Thursday 09/29/22

Model checking for GLMs

Videos
7 13 Tuesday 10/04/22

Uncertainty quantification for GLMs

Thursday 10/06/22

Midterm 1

8 14 Tuesday 10/11/22

Nonparametric Methods and Neural Networks

15 Thursday 10/13/22

Neural Networks and Interpretability

9 16 Tuesday 10/18/22

Causal Inference I, Problems with association

17 Thursday 10/20/22

Causal Inference II, Randomized experiments

10 18 Tuesday 10/25/22

Causal Inference III, Observational studies

19 Thursday 10/27/22

Reinforcement Learning I

11 20 Tuesday 11/01/22

Reinforcement Learning II

21 Thursday 11/03/22

Concentration inequalities

12 22 Tuesday 11/08/22

Bandits I

23 Thursday 11/10/22

Bandits II

13 Tuesday 11/15/22

Midterm 2

24 Thursday 11/17/22

Differential Privacy

14 25 Tuesday 11/22/22

Robustness and Generalization

26 Thursday 11/24/22

Thanksgiving

15 27 Tuesday 11/29/22

Matching Markets and Game Theory

28 Thursday 12/01/22

Course Wrap-up